Anthology: Singer, Songwriter, Soldier
Arthur Fields

Arthur Fields, Anthology: Singer, Songwriter, Soldier
June 15, 2019 hennessey
Arthur Fields: Anthology: Singer, Songwriter, Soldier

Wanting to run away from home since age eleven, Abraham Finkelstein was always after something. He masked his Jewish background by adopting the stage name Arthur Fields and launched a long and prolific career as a songwriter, vaudevillian, recording artist, radio personality, and music publisher. Featuring 26 tracks and a 32-page booklet with notes by Grammy-nominated author Ryan Barna, Anthology: Singer, Songwriter, Soldier tells the story of Fields’ four-decade recording career and constant reinventions. We hear his 1914 debut with a long-forgotten Irving Berlin number, follow along as he becomes one of the key voices and songwriters of World War I, then listen as he reinvents himself as a “hillbilly” during the country music boom of the ’20s and ’30s. The compilation ends with two remarkable selections: His emotional 1941 recording of “Der Fuehrer’s Face,” and a 1951 wire recording captured by record collector Dick Carty in which he reprises his most famous composition, “It’s a Long Way to Berlin, but We’ll Get There!" List price: $17.99


  • Catalogue number: ARCH 5506
  • UPC: 868490000272
  • Original release date: July 12, 2019
  • Running length: 77:59 / 26 tracks
  • Notes & packaging: Includes a 32-page booklet
  • Tracks recorded: 1914-1951
  • Contains racially derogatory language
  • In Archeophone’s Anthology series
Tracks and Sound SamplesReviews
1. Along Came Ruth Arthur Fields 1914
2. Stay Down Here Where You Belong Arthur Fields 1914
3. Poor Pauline Arthur Fields 1914
4. San Francisco (At That San-Fran-Pan American Fair) Arthur Fields 1915
5. The Little Ford Rambled Right Along Arthur Fields 1915
6. Everybody Loves a “Jazz” Band Arthur Fields 1917
7. Darktown Strutters’ Ball Arthur Fields and Ford Dabney’s Band 1917
8. It’s a Long Way to Berlin, but We’ll Get There! Arthur Fields 1917
9. Over There Arthur Fields 1917
10. Oh! How I Hate to Get Up in the Morning Arthur Fields 1918
11. When I Get Back to My American Blighty Arthur Fields 1918
12. Pershing for President Arthur Fields 1919
13. Ja-Da (Ja Da, Ja Da, Jing Jing Jing!) Arthur Fields 1919
14. How ’Ya Gonna Keep ’Em Down on the Farm? (After They’ve Seen Paree) Arthur Fields 1919
15. The Dardanella Blues The Three Kaufields 1920
16. Hail Chicago! Arthur Fields and the Criterion Quartette 1921
17. Moxie Arthur Fields 1921
18. Carolina in the Morning Arthur Fields and Ben Selvin’s Orchestra 1923
19. Bryan Believed in Heaven (That’s Why He’s in Heaven Tonight) Arthur Fields 1925
20. My Dream of the Baseball Park Arthur Fields 1928
21. I Can’t Sleep in the Movies Anymore Arthur Fields and his Assassinators 1929
22. Calamity Jane Arthur Fields and Adelyne Hood 1930
23. Eleven More Months and Ten More Days—Part 1 Colt Brothers and Rex Cole Mountaineers 1931
24. There’s a Blue Sky ’Way Out Yonder Arthur Fields 1938
25. Der Fuehrer’s Face Arthur Fields 1942
26. Medley: It’s a Long Way to Berlin, but We’ll Get There! / I’ll See You in My Dreams / Carolina in the Morning [personal recording] Arthur Fields 1951
Review from Mainspring Press

“As with all Archeophone releases, the transfer quality and production values are impeccable…The detailed biographical and program notes by Phonostalgia host Ryan Barna are especially praiseworthy, moving beyond the seminal but now outdated work of Hobbies columnist Jim Walsh and other early researchers.” Read the full review →

Share via
Arthur Fields, Anthology: Singer, Songwriter, Soldier
Send this to a friend