After Midnight
Ford Dabney's Syncopated Orchestras

Ford Dabney: After Midnight
April 14, 2024 hennessey
Ford Dabney's Syncopated Orchestras: After Midnight

As a founding member of the all-Black Clef Club, Washington DC-born-and-raised Ford T. Dabney helped revolutionize 1910s society dance music with his chief collaborator, James Reese Europe. In 1916, his syncopated orchestra began a multi-year residency with Flo Ziegfeld’s Midnight Frolic, an after-hours show staged in New York’s New Amsterdam Theatre rooftop garden. Subsequently, Dabney’s Band made several dozen records for the Aeolian-Vocalion Company, pioneers in vertically-cut longer-playing records. When Prohibition forced the Frolic to close, Dabney moved on musically as well as professionally, making a few standout jazz records for the famed Paramount label. Highlights of the 48 tracks on these two CDs include “That’s It,” “The Dancing Deacon,” “Bugle Call Blues,” “Lassus Trombone,” “Slidin’ Sid,” “Rainy Day Blues,” and “Camp Meeting Blues.” Notes in the 36-page booklet by Tim Brooks, author of Lost SoundsList price: $28.99


  • Catalogue number: ARCH 6013
  • UPC: 198168060391
  • Original release date: May 17, 2024
  • Running length: 2 CDs / 48 tracks / 158 minutes
  • Notes & packaging: Double slimline with a 36-page full-color booklet
  • Tracks recorded: 1917-1922
  • In Archeophone’s Jazz, Dance & Blues series
Tracks and Sound SamplesVideos
Tracklist: CD 1
1. Darktown Strutters’ Ball Dabney’s Band 1917
2. That’s It Dabney’s Band 1917
3. The Jass — “Lazy Blues” Dabney’s Band 1917
4. Sally Trombone Dabney’s Band 1917
5. Pussy Willow Dabney’s Band 1917
6. Paddle-Addle in Your Little Canoe Dabney’s Band 1917
7. There’s a Lump of Sugar Down in Dixie Dabney’s Band 1918
8. Slidin’ Sid Dabney’s Band 1918
9. Our Sammies’ March Dabney’s Military Band 1918
10. A Winning Fight Dabney’s Military Band 1918
11. Mr. Sousa’s Yankee Band Dabney’s Band 1919
12. You Keep Sending ‘Em Over and We’ll Keep Knocking ‘Em Down Dabney’s Band & Arthur Fields 1918
13. You’ll Find Old Dixieland in France Dabney’s Band & Arthur Fields 1918
14. Just Blue Dabney’s Band 1918
15. Swinging Along Dabney’s Band 1918
16. Springtime Dabney’s Band 1918
17. Indigo Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
18. A Foxy Cure for the Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
19. Rainy Day Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
20. Lassus Trombone Dabney’s Band 1919
21. How Ya Gonna Keep ‘Em Down on the Farm Dabney’s Band 1919
22. Keep Smiling Dabney’s Band 1919


Tracklist: CD 2
1. Feist’s All-Hit Medley Dabney’s Band 1918
2. Miss Trombone (A Slippery Rag) Dabney’s Band 1919
3. Easy Pickin’s Dabney’s Band 1919
4. Missouri Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
5. Frisco’s Kitchen Stove Rag Dabney’s Band 1919
6. Squealing Pig Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
7. Old Glory Goes Marching On Dabney’s Band 1919
8. Beautiful Ohio Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
9. Slow Drag Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
10. Breeze (Blow My Baby Back to Me) Dabney’s Novelty Band 1919
11. I Ain’t Gonna Give Nobody None o’ This Jelly Roll Dabney’s Novelty Band 1919
12. Spanking the Baby Dabney’s Band & Arthur Fields 1919
13. There’s a Lot of Blue Eyed Marys Down in Maryland Dabney’s Band & Arthur Fields 1919
14. The Dancing Deacon Dabney’s Band 1919
15. On the Streets of Cairo Dabney’s Novelty Orchestra 1919
16. Blues My Naughtie Sweetie Gives To Me Dabney’s Novelty Orchestra 1919
17. Now I Know Dabney’s Novelty Orchestra 1919
18. Camp Meeting Blues Dabney’s Band 1919
19. Round the Corner Dabney’s Band 1919
20. What’s Worth While Getting Dabney’s Band 1919
21. My Laddie Dabney’s Band 1919
22. Wedding and Shimmie and Jazz Dabney’s Band 1920
23. When My Baby Smiles Dabney’s Band 1920
24. Bugle Call Blues Ford Dabney’s Syncopated Orchestra 1922
25. Doo Dah Blues Ford Dabney’s Syncopated Orchestra 1922
26. Sweet Man o’ Mine Ford Dabney’s Syncopated Orchestra 1922

Share via
Send this to a friend