The 1890s, Volume 1: "Wipe Him Off the Land"
Various Artists

Various Artists: The 1890s, Vol. 1: "Wipe Him Off the Land"

30 tracks from 1893-1902, transferred from exceedingly scarce Berliner discs and brown wax cylinders, with top artists such as Dan W. Quinn ("The Band Played On"), George J. Gaskin ("Drill, Ye Terriers, Drill"), John Yorke AtLee ("The Mocking Bird"), George W. Johnson ("The Whistling Coon"), Arthur Collins ("I'd Leave My Happy Home for You"), and Sousa's Band, Vess Ossman, Edward M. Favor, Russell Hunting, and more. The deluxe 24-page booklet boasts extremely rare photos of several of the artists (many only now published for the first time in over 100 years), artist bios, a timeline of when the songs first hit big, and an historical essay focusing on major social problems of the decade. Companion volume to ARCH 9006. List price: $17.49


  • Catalogue number: ARCH 9004
  • UPC: 656605928029
  • Original release date: April 4, 2001
  • Running length: 65:06 / 30 tracks
  • Notes & packaging: Includes a 24-page booklet
  • Tracks recorded: 1893-1902
  • Contains racially derogatory language
  • In Archeophone’s Phonographic Yearbook series
Tracks and Sound SamplesProduct DescriptionPackage DealsMore by these Artists
 Sample all tracks 
1. El Capitan March Sousa’s Band 1897
2. The New Bully J. W. Myers 1896
3. She Was Bred in Old Kentucky George J. Gaskin 1898
4. Sally in Our Alley Haydn Quartet 1899
5. The Thunderer Gilmore’s Band ca. 1899-1900
6. At a Georgia Camp Meeting Dan W. Quinn 1898
7. The Mocking Bird John Yorke AtLee ca. 1893
8. Casey as a Doctor Russell Hunting 1897
9. My Old Kentucky Home Edison Male Quartet 1898
10. In the Gloaming Roger Harding 1897
11. The Night Alarm Edison Grand Concert Band 1898
12. The Whistling Coon George W. Johnson 1896
13. Sweet Marie Ada Jones 1894
14. The Band Played On Dan W. Quinn 1895
15. I Guess I’ll Have to Telegraph My Baby Edward M. Favor 1899
16. The Directorate March U.S. Marine Band 1896
17. My Old New Hampshire Home Jere Mahoney 1898
18. Just Break the News to Mother George J. Gaskin 1899
19. Uncle Josh in a Chinese Laundry Cal Stewart ca. 1900
20. Turkey in the Straw Billy Golden 1896
21. I’d Leave My Happy Home for You Arthur Collins 1899
22. The Girl I Loved in Sunny Tennessee J. J. Fisher 1899
23. Washington Post March Sousa’s Band 1897
24. In the Baggage Coach Ahead Steve Porter ca. 1899
25. O Promise Me Edward Franklin ca. 1899-1900
26. I’m Old but I’m Awfully Tough Cal Stewart 1901
27. Yankee Doodle (with variations) Vess Ossman 1897
28. Drill Ye Tarriers, Drill George J. Gaskin 1899
29. Crappy Dan Spencer and Ossman 1897
30. The Laughing Song George W. Johnson 1902

Whistling solos, comic monologues, and “coon songs”: these are the popular records of over 100 years ago, routines that remind us that the early talking machine was a novelty entertainment. The records—whether soft, non-durable brown wax cylinders or fragile shellac discs—were disposable curiosities that have accidentally survived the ravages of time to become crude
testimonies to history two centuries ago.

An odd kind of popularity

There are no “original” hits by original artists on records of the 1890s. Hit songs were the ones selling the most sheet music or those coming out of Broadway. In the fledgling recording industry, numerous versions of the songs appeared on commercial records. Over time, though, the reputations of certain artists, such as Dan W. Quinn, Len Spencer, George Gaskin, J. W. Myers, and Steve Porter, assured quality. These were the big “stars” of earliest days of recording.

A living testament to history

Many of the artists featured on the 1890s CD were born before the Civil War. In fact, recording phenom George W. Johnson was born a slave on a Virginia plantation. These are the voices of a history that usually seems beyond reach. But listen as Russell Hunting, in “Casey as Doctor,” makes a joke about newly-inaugurated President McKinley. Or hear Sousa’s Band play their director’s “latest” march, “El Capitan.” The booklet includes information on each of the artists featured to help bring these pioneers to life.

All the rough edges

The accompanying essay does not attempt a complete cultural history of the decade but, instead, focuses on a few key events that illuminate the songs, the marches, and comedy routines. Additionally, you’ll be able to read some of the song lyrics; like many of the contemporary events, not all the songs are pretty. And not all the records have the clear sound of modern CD music. While we have attempted to minimize the noise on these rare records, the fact is that they are worn and noisier than most of the records Archeophone reissues.

This release is included in the following packages.

Phonographic Yearbook Starter Kit

Save 15% when you order all in-stock editions of our Phonographic Yearbook series together.

All Things Archeophone

Save 20% on our entire catalogue

Share via
The 1890s, Volume 1: \'Wipe Him Off the Land\'
Send this to a friend